+27 (0)21 418 3188/3094/2631 info@dsdlaw.co.za


March 17, 2020


Further to our earlier publication, please note that on 17 March 2020 the Minister of Home Affairs Dr Aaron P Motsoaledi issued a directive, abolishing the visa exemptions http://www.dha.gov.za/index.php/immigration-services/exempt-countries of foreigners from China, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Portugal, South Korea, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom and the United States.  This is unprecedented in the history of South Africa. The directive aims to prevent the influx of nationals from those countries and all other foreign nationals who have visited those countries since 15 February 2020 by closing its borders, in line with the nation address by President Ramaphosa of 15 March 2020.  The Minister furthermore advised in his public announcement made on 16 March 2020 that visas issued to nationals of China and Iran during January and February would be revoked.   Please note however that visas for foreigners of these countries in South Africa are not affected by the aforesaid measures.  For more information about the Immigration Directive, ­

Click the link below to read the Immigration Directive:


De Saude-Darbandi Attorneys | Cape Town, South Africa

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!